Organisers of Oba Kabir Shotobi Annual Independence Day 10 Kilometer Mini-Marathon commend Lagos State Sports Commission

The Majority Leader,  Lagos State House of Assembly, Honourable Agunbiade Sarinai, has commended the Director General, Lagos State Sports Commission Oluwatoyin Gafaar for the support of the  Sports  Commission towards the Year 2021 Oba Kabir Shotobi Annual Independence Day 10 Kilometer Mini- Marathon held in Ikorodu.


Speaking at the Finish Point of the Marathon Race organized for  the Pupils of Secondary Schools within Ikorodu and it’s environs, Honourable Agunbiade, the Initiator of  the Mini- Marathon stated that the support of the Lagos State Sports Commission through the Director General has helped the Race to developed.

“I want to recognize the support of the Director General, Lagos State Sports Commission for the Sports Commission’s  Financial support”.

He hinted that the main purpose of the Race is for physical well-being of the Pupils, to allow for competitiveness amongst Public and Private Schools in Ikorodu and its environs, adding that the Prize Money for the winners of the Race would be increased in the next edition.

The Director General, Lagos State Sports Commission, Oluwatoyin Gafaar, while speaking at the end of the Race, stated that the Lagos State Sports Commission would continue to support any initiative that has to do with Sports at the Grassroots, adding that the Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu led administration in Lagos State since assumption in Office, has been supporting Lagos State Sports Commission to live up to its  expectations of achieving the mandate of taking sports to the Grassroots in Lagos State,  more importantly, School based Sports.


He announced that 4 winners amongst the Marathoners will accompany Lagos State National Youth Games Athletes  for the 6th National Youth Games in Ilorin,Kwara State in October,  to go and watch the Games and  garner some experience .


” The Lagos State Sports Commission will take along 4 of the Winners in this Race to the Ilorin National Youth Games “.


Gafaar also announced the winners will be rewarded with Sporting equipment to the tune of N100,000.

Share this story

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on telegram
Share on whatsapp

About Us

Lagos State Sports Commission (LSSC) was created from the defunct Office of Sports in the Ministry of Youth, Sports and Social Development (MYSSD) and Lagos State Sports Council via an Executive Order EO/AA01 dated 17 June 2015 by His Excellency Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode, Governor of Lagos State. While the Law to provide for the Commission was signed into law by the Governor on 1st of February 2017.

Connect with us

We are social

Copyright © 2021 Lagos State Sport Commission. All rights reserved.